Hot Ice by Nora Roberts – Review

 

Title: Hot Ice

Author: Nora Roberts

Rating: ★

 

 

Warning: ***There are spoilers in the review***

Review:  Another book by Nora Roberts that I enjoyed. It took me a bit to get into it, but that may have been my own lack of time to read, but once it got going, I got into it. A jewel thief runs off to Madagascar in search of the lost jewels of Marie Antoinette using information that he stole for another man then kept to himself.  Whitney was the lucky girl who was initially forced to aid in his escape and then backed the funding of the excursion, needing a little adventure herself to spice up her own boring life of riches.  I loved the story behind the jewels they were searching for; the French Revolution is one of my favorite periods in history.

I must admit that Douglas’s constant reference to Whitney as ‘sugar’ got a little old, along with his phrase of “get your ass in gear” which never failed at riling Whitney up to an unnecessary level. In addition, I couldn’t understand how such a good thief would go around dropping his name as if it were nothing when he had a bunch of goons chasing after them.

I also felt as if Roberts caved a bit too easily when it came to Whitney’s capture. They spend all of this time driving around town in their stolen jeep and all that’s going through my mind is…..I’m pretty sure Remo would recognize his jeep if he saw it sitting out in the open in a parking lot. I’m not even a thief and my mind is constantly looking over their shoulders. Plus, once they do acquire the loot, it’s as if they completely ignore the fact that they’re being followed. They drive to a nice hotel, get a room, take a bath…Doug goes to buy them tickets out of there the next morning (most likely using their real names). Knowing that Dimitri’s henchmen weren’t that far behind them, they sure as hell didn’t take any precautions, especially considering that they finally actually HAD the jewels in their possession. Of all times to be careful, that would have been it.

Still, minus those few flaws that snagged at me, the book was enjoyable and got me through a six hour drive across Texas.

 

Happy reading!

Kenzie

Leave a comment